2022 World Cup qualifiers: Osimhen enters, Bassey receives Nigeria’s first call-up


Super Eagles have named a strong squad for October World Cup playoffs against Raoul Savoy’s Wild Beasts

Coach Gernot Rohr has announced his squad of 23 Nigerians who will face the Central African Republic in the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers in October.

The African Triple Kings are hoping to extend their perfect start in Group C when they take on coach Raoul Savoy’s Wild Beasts en route to a potential qualification for the centerpiece of world football.

To tackle those matches, the German tactician appointed a strong squad with Napoli star Victor Osimhen, Genk’s Paul Onuachu and Rangers’ Joe Aribo making the cut.

Regular suspects like Alex Iwobi, France-based captain Ahmed Musa, Moses Simon, as well as Leon Balogun and Maduka Okoye are also on the squad.

Meanwhile, 21-year-old Calvin Bassey, who plays for the Scottish giants Rangers and can play as either a left-back or a center-back, received his first call-up in Nigeria.

Sadly Leicester City’s Wilfred Ndidi and Watford star Peter Etebo will not play a role in the critical games due to injury setbacks.

Rohr’s men will face the Central African Republic on October 7 at Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos before heading to Bangui for the second leg announced at Barthélemy Boganda Stadium three days later.

Victory in both matches will bring them closer to the all-important round of 16 which will produce Africa’s five standard bearers in Qatar.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)

Midfielder: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Innocent Bonke (Malmo FF, Sweden); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)

Before: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moïse Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)


Comments are closed.