Covid-19: Angola closes its borders with 7 southern African countries



The Angolan government closed its borders with seven southern African countries on Saturday to curb the spread of the new variant of Covid-19.

The member countries of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) are South Africa, Botswana, eSwatini, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

Angola has so far recorded 65,130 cases of Covid-19, 63,183 recoveries, 1,733 deaths.

According to the Minister of State and Chief of Staff to President Adão de Almeida, the measure will be effective from December 1.

“The decision does not cover Angolan citizens who can return to the country, however, they will be required to observe a 14-day quarantine at home,” de Almeida said. He added that from January 1, 2022, flights from India will resume to the country.

The Angolan government’s decision comes after South African scientists detected a new ‘super-variant’ of Covid-19 with multiple mutations.


At least 1,000 cases have been found in greater Johannesburg and surrounding areas of Gauteng province in about a week, but internationally. At least four cases have been detected in Botswana.

On Thursday, UK Health Secretary Sajid Javid announced that from noon Friday South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho and eSwatini would be added to the travel red list and flights from these countries would be temporarily banned due to growing concern. on a newly discovered variant of coronavirus.

Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal and the United States, among others, on Friday joined the United Kingdom in restricting flights from SADC.


Comments are closed.